A Life in Paris – March 17, 1937

The French Negro students in Paris rely on my lending library  to keep them in touch, as much as possible, with American Negro literature…

IMG_7866-LPhotography print available at Found View Gallery.

The French Negro students in Paris rely on my lending library  to keep them in touch, as much as possible, with American Negro literature. I have a number of very interesting books by the poets and novelists, and studies on the subject of the problems of the American Negro, but no as many as I should like and would purchase if I had the funds for it. Unfortunately my little shop is going through a crisis just now, and would have gone under if it had not been for the help of friends. Pardon me for telling you this, but it is to explain why I have to make a very careful selection of only the most essential books, and to ask you to help me by suggesting a few representative ones that my library should possess.

Sylvia Beach, to The Friendship Press

Notes:
• From The Letters of Sylvia Beach
• Sylvia Beach was an American who founded the original Shakespeare and Company bookstore in Paris. She also published Ulysses by James Joyce.

Leave a comment