A Life in Paris – January 23, 1945

Paris would be beautiful if each snowflake were not a frozen tear for the cruelty of suffering it adds to civilian life here, even not to speak of men at the front…

IMG_1512 2Photography print available at Found View Gallery.

Paris would be beautiful if each snowflake were not a frozen tear for the cruelty of suffering it adds to civilian life here, even not to speak of men at the front. […] Little food for average, modest French families, no heat, no light between eight-thirty and five; coiffeurs closed until five, then open till eleven. [Robert] Capa, Life photographer, is here in my hotel. […]

I walked into Notre Dame last Sunday—and out. It meant nothing to me. I have never liked its nave, which I find hard, its columns of a too late Gothic; it was a period of my past which I was no longer interested in and on which I walked out. I seem to have no aesthetic interest left at all; it alarms me. It was my chief intellectual passion. I never read, never have; I was all eyes for beauty. If I no longer care for that, I might as well be blind, if I only use my eyes to see what I eat.

Janet Flanner, to a friend

Notes:
• From Darlinghissima: Letters to a Friend
• Janet Flanner was an American writer and journalist.

Leave a comment